If your local State pollie is the Member for Melton – well, it could soon be the Member for Buninyong.

The Electoral Boundaries Commission is launching the next redivision of seats ahead of the State election on 26 November 2022.

And with massive growth in Melbourne’s outer west it could get interesting.

The EBC said the redivision of State electoral boundaries aimed to provide fair and equitable representation for all voters by ensuring enrolments in each electoral district and region did not vary by more than 10 per cent from the State average.

What that means is that if Melton’s population is getting too big, it must give some of that territory to surrounding electorates such as Buninyong – which happens to be more marginal. 

Being marginal means locals are in a better position to bargain for state cash for projects such as indoor pools, secondary schools, libraries, hospital upgrades and roads.

The EBC will hold an online information session on Wednesday 16 December for anyone wanting to learn more about the redivision process and how to make a submission.

Further information on how to register to join this meeting is available at ebc.vic.gov.au  

Submissions open on the same day at 9am – and they must be submitted by 5pm on March 1.

A draft report will be released on June 30 and the final version on October 14.

Electoral Commissioner Warwick Gately, one of the members of the EBC is also calling for comments from the public.

“We encourage Victorians to contribute to the redivision process and have their say,” Mr Gately said.

“People interested in making a submission can map their proposed boundaries using the new Public Submission Tool available on the EBC website.”

The last EBC redivision took place in the lead up to the November 2014 election – and saw the shire split down Korkuperrimul Creek in the Underbank Estate valley between Buninyong in the west and Melton in the east.

Moorabool Council wrote to the Commission in 2013, requesting that the entire Shire be included in Buninyong – including a small section in the Macedon electorate.

In 2022 there is a greater chance that could actually happen.

The Council has also called in the past for the electorate to be renamed ‘Moorabool’ to better reflect its geography.

** Meanwhile, Upper House regions will be determined by the shape of lower house districts.

Buninyong is in the Western Victorian Region – but Macedon is in Northern Victoria, meaning that voters in Blackwood and Korweinguboora are represented by Legislative Council members based in areas such as Wangaratta and Shepparton.

The current boundaries of the Buninyong electorate were set in October 2013.

While much of Bacchus Marsh is currently in the seat of MELTON, the electorate of BUNINYONG applies:

** West of Korkuperrimul Ck,

** In the western half of the Stonehill Estate (including Essence Blvd),

** South of Griffith St, but also west of Osborne St,

** On the western side of Osborne St,

** South of Kerrs Rd (including the Maddingley Brown Coal site)

** East of East Maddingley Rd,

** South of Tilleys Rd  

** South of Parwan-Exford Rd as far as the shire boundary.

** Barkstead, Spargo Creek, Blakeville, Colebrook, Greendale, Korobeit and Myrniong arev also within Buninyong.

A small part of the Moorabool Shire is also in the seat of MACEDON, including:

** Korweinguboora, Bullarto South, Dales Creek, Blackwood and parts of Coimadai north of Diggers Rest Rd.

** The remaining boundary follows the Moorabool shire border.

RELATED STORY: Genetics Australia ‘Bullfarm’ leaving Bacchus Marsh

RELATED STORY: Burst water pipe floods hospital

RELATED STORY:  Converting good intentions into results

** Tips: news@mooraboolonline.com.au

Gabrielle Hodson
Author: Gabrielle Hodson

Online, radio, TV and print journalist since 1993. BA (Hum) majoring in journalism Deakin University. Follow us on Twitter - https://twitter.com/MooraboolOnline I'd love to hear your news tips 🙂 Email -- news@mooraboolonloine.com.au OR send us a message via Facebook -- https://www.facebook.com/MooraboolOnline